JON ANDERSON and ROINE STOLT Team Up for New Album — News Here

ANDERSON/STOLT is a new duo consisting of legendary Yes vocalist & singer/songwriter Jon Anderson with and prog-rock superstar Roine Stolt (The Flower Kings, Transatlantic.) The pair have announced the release of a collaborative albumInvention Of Knowledge’ which is due out 24th June 2016 via InsideOut Music.

Jon Anderson told us “Music is always the driving force in my life…working with such a wonderful musician as Roine Stolt made the creation of this album very unique,we are very excited with the release of ‘Invention of Knowledge’

Roine Stolt added “It is not aiming at being new Yes music — just new music — modern and classical, rock and ethno, tribal and orchestrated, grooving and floating. Hopefully in the true spirit of “progressive” — leaning forward, surprising and also comforting with familiar run-arounds. 

We’ve been “inventing” as we go along – Jon is an endless source of new ideas. We’ve been bouncing ideas back and forth for months and as a result there are probably dozens of versions of these songs.  It’s been a very interesting and rewarding time and the result is just insanely detailed.

Invention Of Knowledge is out this June...
Invention Of Knowledge is out this June…

The idea came to life swiftly off the back of a performance from Roine’s band Transatlantic, and Jon Anderson on the Progressive Nation At Sea Cruise in 2014, and was initially instigated by InsideOut Music label boss Thomas Waber who said, “I have been talking to Jon for ages about making an album of ‘Yes music’ – as Jon calls it – and Roine seemed like the perfect guy for him to work with. I am really happy that it has finally happened and I am also thrilled with the material they have come up with. I think it will please a lot of fans!

Written & recorded over 18 months, Roine and Jon swapped & refined ideas by sending tracks to each other via the internet.

In March 2015 an group was assembled by Roine to recreate a live sound in a studio environment. Joining him was Tom Brislin (who played on the Yes Symphonic tour) &  Lalle Larsson on keys, Jonas Reingold & Michael Stolt on bass and Felix Lehrmann on drums. The sessions were also bolstered by appearances from Daniel Gildenlöw, Nad Sylvan, Anja Obermayer, Maria Rerych and Kristina Westas who all provided backing vocals.

Check for more info near the time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.