Dutch progressive metal/rock opera multi-instrumentalist maestro Arjen Lucassen aka AYREON has revealed more detail about his much anticipated ninth studio album ‘The Source’ to be released on 28 April.

Noble & proud and hints at ominiscient tragedy...
Noble & proud and hints at ominiscient tragedy…

The album features an exciting array of guests that include James LaBrie (Dream Theater), Simone Simons (Epica), Floor Jansen (Nightwish), Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), Tobias Sammet (Avantasia), Paul Gilbert (Mr. Big), Russell Allen (Symphony X), Mark Kelly (Marillion)  plus many more [see image below]

The science fiction storyline prequels the chronology speculated in the seventh studio album “01011001” about a race of aquatic beings from Planet Y who discovered the secret of longevity.

The story of ‘The Source’ starts in the distant past on planet “Alpha” — inhabited by our human ancestors.

On the planet computers have surpassed human intelligence and have shut down all support systems causing widespread panic.

The two CD conceptual piece divided into four identifiable chapters starting with the swirling eddies of “The Day That The World Breaks Down” [with Mike Mills] that has haunting pipes and elongated threads of nylon synth. This is noble & proud and it hints at ominiscient tragedy.



















Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.