Joanne Shaw Taylor photo credit Kit Wood


JOANNE SHAW TAYLOR – the award-winning blues-rock vocalist and total guitar genius born in the West Midlands, UK – is about to release a new 16-track album “Blues From The Heart Live”.

The album will be released on Joe Bonamassa’s independent label, KTBA Records on Friday June 10th 2022.

This live album was recorded and filmed at The Franklin Theater in Franklin, Tennessee on January 20, 2022 and features incredible guest performances from Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Mike Farris and Joe Bonamassa.

The historic concert was Joanne’s first live performance in two years and also featured Rob McNelley (guitar), Steve Mackey (bass), Jimmy Wallace (keyboards, piano), Nick Buda (drums), Devonne Fowlkes (backing vocals), Kim Fleming (backing vocals), and Joanne on lead vocals and guitar.

The audio was produced by Joe Bonamassa and Josh Smith at Blackbird Studios, Nashville, and was mixed by Kevin Shirley (Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden) at The Cave, Australia.

Joanne Shaw Taylor Kit Wood

The soulful and raw number “If That Ain’t A Reason” is a funkadelic piece with greasy lube horns, an ethereal guitar blast venting midpoint— to dissect the piece like a silver scalpel— and a vocal tone that arrives like boneless wax paper but soothes like liquid paraffin. All in all, yep, it’s sticky and seductive!

The first live single from the album, “Dyin’ To Know” is a tonal-textural joy, with jagged notes, blistering rhythms, and distinctive freeway flair. The guitar work is remarkable: and the vocals are rich and bronze-sculptured. The string-style is Robert Crayish in character, and Joanne’s vocals are unflinching.

Can’t You See What You’re Doing To Me” (featuring Kenny Wayne Shepherd) video shared below, is as seductive as the electric blues can ever get. With astonishingly instinctive and crisp improvisations, lyricism in every impassioned note, and a sense of restless excitement in all the passionate beats… this is JST and KWS at their sensational best! 

On this amazing live blues album Joanne lights the sky with cosmic silverdust while her firecracker guitar screams like a banshee for mercy!

Words: @neilmach 2022 ©

Photos: Kit Wood ©

Pre-order link:

CD Track Listing

  1. Stop Messin’ Round
  2. If That Ain’t A Reason
  3. Keep On Lovin’ Me
  4. If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody
  5. Can’t You See What You’re Doing To Me (featuring Kenny Wayne Shepherd)
  6. Let Me Down Easy
  7. Two Time My Lovin’
  8. I Don’t Know What You’ve Got (featuring Mike Farris)
  9. Three Time Loser
  10. Dyin’ To Know
  11. Just Another Word
  12. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long
  13. I’m In Chains
  14. Don’t Go Away Mad (featuring Joe Bonamassa)
  15. Summertime (featuring Joe Bonamassa)
  16. Only You Know And I Know (featuring Joe Bonamassa)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.