featured photo Lynne Jackaman - Bridge Over Troubled Water


Following the success of Volumes 1 and 2, GREAT MUSIC STORIES is giving away the third instalment of its Modern Rock CD Compilation series for June, showcasing 16 artists and celebrating the rich diversity of today’s rising guitar music scene.

As before, the CDs will be a free thank-you to music fans who tune into the Friday show or follow the interviews on the site. What’s more, everyone who requests a CD will get a second copy to give to someone new to the scene: a small but meaningful step to help grow the audience.

Volumes 1 and 2 (in 2018 and 2020) presented a selection of head-turning, four-minute bangers: songs that had worked well as radio singles. 

Volume 3 takes a new direction, with GMS presenting a more eclectic collection that underlines the diversity of the scene today. You’ll find songs ‘too long for radio’ included. 

Rising female artists are well represented (following the GMS 'Women in Rock' series)  - shown here: Burridge

Rising female artists are well represented (following the GMS ‘Women in Rock’ series) and the CD covers a healthy mix of genres and musical styles.

Following the station’s innovative and well-received run of ‘Rockshow of Freedom‘ broadcasts (bringing together artists to send a message of support and freedom for the people of Ukraine) the new Modern Rock collection also makes a nod to contemporary issues.

Great Music Stories Radio: The Friday Show

GuyB at Great Music Stories says “The songs on this volume attempt reflect the uncertain times we live in — and showcase music’s wide-ranging power to testify, to inspire us to cope and overcome — and to help us reflect.” 

Overall, Volume 3 is more eclectic, but it’s better for it: an open-plan space free from no walls, genre labels or boundaries: the doors and windows are wide-open to let new music in, and there’s something here for everyone.”

Popular with music fans, the Modern Rock project also means a lot to the artists involved:

Carrie Marshall from Scottish band HAVR (Got You In My Bones) comments:We’re very proud to be part of the Modern Rock series: it’s a celebration of room-shaking, heart-breaking, risk-taking music that shows how exciting, vibrant and diverse modern rock can be.” 

And it’s about more than just music; Modern Rock is also about community and bringing people together. That feels more important than ever right now.

Tune in to the Friday show on greatmusicstories.com / Alexa Fridays from 5pm

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/greatmusicstories

Featured photo: Lynne Jackaman

Modern Rock Volume 3

Track listing

  1. Black Lakes – Black Days Come
  2. Amongst Liars – Without Grace
  3. The Virginmarys – The Meds
  4. Burridge – Cigarette Smoke
  5. The Autumn Killers – Darkside
  6. The Lost Search Party – River Runs Dry
  7. Matt Mitchell & The Coldhearts – Old Enough & Ugly Enough
  8. Late Night Legacy – Dreams Of You
  9. HAVR – Got You In My Bones
  10. Lynne Jackaman – I’ll Allow You
  11. Rebecca Downes – Hold On
  12. Tarraska – Prose
  13. The Bad Day – Devil’s Lullaby
  14. Thirteen Stars – Only A Solider
  15. Machines Dream – The Standing Field
  16. Sari Schorr – Ordinary Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.