TEN YEARS AFTER — 50th Anniversary

English blues rock pioneers TEN YEARS AFTER scored eight Top 40 albums between 1968 and 1973.

The band evolved in the late 1960’s first as Ivan Jay and the Jaycats then other iterations, including the JAYBIRDS, leading to Alvin Lee and Leo Lyons to found Ten Years After in 1966, ostensibly named in honour of Elvis Presley [ten years after his mainstream successes of 1956] but more likely referencing “Ten Years After The Suez” [and the Suez crisis.]

To coincide with the eponymous debut release in 1967, Chrysalis Records have put out a 50th Anniversary 10 CD Box Set…

In October 1967 the band released their self-titled debut album and in 1970 they released their only UK hit single “Love Like a Man.”

Guitarist and founding member Alvin Lee died in 2013. Chick Churchill (keys) and Ric Lee (drums) still play in the band.

Now, to coincide with the eponymous debut release in 1967, Chrysalis Records have put out a 50th Anniversary 10 CD Box Set.

This limited edition set includes a CD of previously unreleased material.

This box set, limited to 1,500 copies worldwide, includes albums that have been remastered from the original 1/4″ production master tapes along with the bonus disc of previously unreleased tracked entitled “The Cap Ferrat Sessions”, which consists of never heard before recordings from 1972, newly mixed by acclaimed record producer Chris Kimsey

I’m genuinely excited about the new Ten Years After box set that we’ve been working on with Chrysalis due for release in November to celebrate the band’s 50th Anniversary,” says Ten Years After’s founding drummer, Ric Lee.

This is a must-have collection for any avid Ten Years After fan, and any new fans that want to soak up the band’s recorded history.”

Box Set includes :

1. Ten Years After [Mono, 1967]

2. Undead [Stereo, 1968]

3. Stonedhenge [Stereo, 1969]

4. Ssssh [Stereo, 1969]

5. Cricklewood Green [Stereo, 1970]

6. Watt [Stereo, 1970]

7. A Space In Time [Stereo, 1971]

8. Rock & Music To The World [Stereo, 1972]

9. Positive Vibrations [Stereo, 1974]

10. The Cap Ferrat Sessions [recorded in 1972, mixed in 2017]

Link: https://www.facebook.com/tenyearsafterband/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.