Flying Colors

FLYING COLORS — Third Stage Live London

The American prog supergroup FLYING COLORS will release their brand new live album titled ‘Third Stage: Live in London’ on 18th September via Music Theories Recordings. Pre-order now.

Third Stage: Live In London
Third Stage: Live In London – a nebula of futuristic beeps combined with fluttering guitars, slapping rhythms, tinkling keys & super-rich almondy vocals…

Third Stage: Live in London’ was filmed & recorded during the 2019 U.S. and European tour and footage captures the elating sold-out final night, on the 14th December at the legendary Shepherd’s Bush Empire, in London..

The prog pop/rockers: guitarist Steve Morse (Deep Purple, Dixie Dregs, ex-Kansas), drummer Mike Portnoy (Winery Dogs, ex-Dream Theater, Transatlantic), keyboardist/vocalist Neal Morse (Transatlantic, ex Spock’s Beard, and a prolific solo artist in his own right), bassist Dave LaRue (Dixie Dregs, ex-Joe Satriani), and powerhouse vocalist / songwriter Casey McPherson (Alpha Rev, The Sea Within) only played nine exclusive shows on the tour, climaxing with the sold-out show in London.

At the event, drummer Portnoy stood to announce: “Welcome to the rarest of all sightings, rarer than a UFO sighting, rarer than a Sasquatch sighting. A Flying Colors sighting, here on stage in London. This is a very sad night for us because it is the last night of the tour and we don’t get to play together enough, so we’re going to savor every moment tonight and enjoy each and every moment here on stage.

The new album will be released on several formats and features fifteen songs that were found on Blue Ocean (track one from their debut album) thru to Crawl from their most recent studio album, Third Degree, 2019 .

Standout numbers such as the singalong twanger “Kayla” (originally found on their debut studio album, 2012) is the sort of thing you might expect on Hero and Heroine (Strawbs) but it’s also influenced by both “Kayleigh” and “Lavender” (Marillion) — in other words a highly perfumed and dainty wonder that wriggles with magic and consequence.

While the groovy clap-fest “Mask Machine” originally from their Second Nature album (2014) is a nebula of futuristic beeps combined with fluttering guitars, slapping rhythms, tinkling keys and super-rich, almondy vocals.

For fans of: Transatlantic, Spock’s Beard


Track Listing

1. Blue Ocean
2. A Place In Your World
3. The Loss Inside
4. More
5. Kayla
6. Geronimo
7. You Are Not Alone
8. Forever In A Daze
9. Love Letter

CD 2:
1. Peaceful Harbor
2. Crawl
3. Infinite Fire
4. Cosmic Symphony
5. The Storm
6. Mask Machine


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.