Jimmy Hall Photo Credit © Drew Stawin


The legendary Wet Willie vocalist and harmonica player JIMMY HALL has released an exciting new single “Risin’ Up” – the third single taken from his new album Ready Now, that is released by KTBA Records.

Ready Now is Hall’s first solo album of original material since 2007.

Watch the “Risin’ Up” music video (shared below.)  It’s a smiley-fine sashay of perspectives and spiritual perceptions. Bonamassa’s guitar, of course, sparkles. But it’s Hall’s blues harp that brings expressive internality to a composition that’s as sanctifyingly rich as it is emotional healing. Yes, this is self-aware and therapeutic!

Jimmy collaborated with producers Joe Bonamassa & Josh Smith to create an album that’s deserving of his extraordinary career and unabashed talents.

Jimmy Hall first rose to fame as the main singer, saxophonist, and harmonica player for the Mobile, Alabama-based band Wet Willie. The band’s anthem  “Keep on Smilin’” topped the Top 10 on the Billboard singles chart in 1974.

a composition that’s sanctifyingly rich in emotional healing…

Raw Ramp Music Mag

After seven albums with Capricorn Records, Wet Willie moved forward to Epic Records to release the singles Street Corner Serenade” and “Weekend.” Both singles hit the US Top 40 and five other songs were placed in the Billboard Top 100.

Ready Now, is a huge artistic statement in a career that is filled with unforgettable highs that go back to his work with Wet Willie but continued with Betts, Hall, Leavell and Truck and into solo recording success. Ready Now, is an album that comes jam-packed with unsurpassable songs and stunning supervirtuoso performances. Jimmy’s songwriting, his harp play, and his intense focus on creating a career-defining album, has never been stronger or more profound.

From epic southern rock tunes like “Ready Now” and “A Long Goodbye,” to boogie-blues numbers such as “Girl’s Got Sugar” and “Jumpin’ for Joy,” Jimmy’s incomparable voice is front and centre of this very fine album.

Jmmy Hall Ready Now

And Hall is supported by a top-notch ensemble that features guitarist Joe Bonamassa, bluesman Josh Smith, iconic pianist Reese Wynans, bassist Michael Rhodes, and drummer Greg Morrow. The track titled “Dream Release” was written with his son Ryan Hall and is about his lifetime friendship with Gregg Allman.

Joe Bonamassa co-wrote five songs on the album including “Risin’ Up,” “Girl’s Got Sugar,” “Will You Still Be Here,” “Without Your Love,” and “Love For It.” and Bonamassa plays unrivalable guitar solos on “Jumpin’ For Joy,” “Risin’ Up,” “Holding On for Dear Love,” “A Long Goodbye,” and “Will You Still Be Here.” 

The album’s  co-producer Josh Smith plays an exquisite guitar solo on “Girl’s Got Sugar.”

And the disc features special guest performances from legendary guitarists Warren Haynes and Jared James Nichols. Haynes plays a slide guitar solo on the title track “Ready Now,” while Jared James plays a guitar solo on “Without Your Love.”

This is an archetypical and superexcellent blues performance album. Ready Now is a significant statement piece that encapsulates an incredible career in music!

Photo Credit © Drew Stawin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.