WILL WILDE — Bring It On Home

The hot-shot harmonica player WILL WILDE is about to put the mouth-organ back into its legitimate place: At the high altar of rock.

His much-anticipated new album ‘Bring It On Home’ will be released March 9th 2018.

He has already released his new single and video ‘Parisienne Walkways’ [check below.]

Just listen to his new recording of the Gary Moore classic and you’ll find that he’s the real deal. He makes the humble harmonica the focus and climax of those heavy but passionate sounds we find so gratifying.

The shred-harpist Will Wilde. Photo credit: Philip James

The shred-harpist, inspired by Prophets Of Rage guitarist Tom Morello, says:

It’s my tribute to blues rock to British and Irish blues-rock legends,”

It’s my way of repaying the creators of British rock, guys like Rory Gallagher, John Mayall and Eric Clapton, I’d like to pay tribute to them before embarking on my own recording journey. I owe them everything. I feel the presence of those guitar-lions every step of the way...”

Recorded at Brighton Road Studios and mixed & engineered by Ali Gavan the eleven track album was produced by Will’s band-mate and virtuoso guitarist Danny Giles. Some tracks were worked on at Danny’s home-studio.

The harmonica player’s renditions of songs like Rory Gallagher’sBad Penny” are blistering!  This song becomes a hot-plate of fermented luster and metallic climax —with all the mystical Irish mistiness you’d expect, plus tons of authentic smoke. It contains Wilde’s harp improvisations and is completely expressive and enthusiastic.

Another track, the rhythm and blues number “Lazy” [Deep Purple] employs contorted & menacing Seydel Harmonica in place of Hammond… with a centrepiece of original harp-work that renders a totally bad-ass original into a spirited and sensitive masterpiece.

Link: https://www.facebook.com/WillWildeBand/


Track listing :

1. Bad Penny — Rory Gallagher
2. Lazy — Deep Purple
3. I’m Your Witchdoctor -—John Mayall
4. Locomotive Breath — Jethro Tull
5. Love That Burns — Fleetwood Mac
6. Politician — Cream
7. The Wizard — Black Sabbath
8. Yer Blues — The Beatles
9. My Brother Jake — Free
10. Bring it on Home — Sonny Boy Williamson/Led Zeppelin
11. Parisienne Walkways — Gary Moore/Phil Lynott

Notes: The artwork for the album was completed by Will Wilde with Aidan Cook

The Will Wilde band is: Danny Giles on guitar, Alan Taylor on drums, and Victoria Smith on bass.

Most involved harp transfer : “Lazy” by Deep Purple

Most challenging harp transfer : “Bad Penny” by Rory Gallagher

Most enjoyable harp transfer : “Parisienne Walkways” by Gary Moore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.