Montreal’s hippiest rock ‘n’ rollers, those revivalist flower-powersters THE DAMN TRUTH will release a new album titled “Now or Nowhere” on May 7th  out on Spectra Musique via Sony.  The new single “This Is Who We Are Now” (with a video shared below) is out now. In true hippie fashion, this new album harnesses the power of love…

The Damn Truth are Lee-la Baum (lead vocals/guitar), Tom Shemer (lead guitar/vocals), PY Letellier (bass/vocals) and Dave Traina (drums/vocals). 

With six tracks produced by Bob Rock (Metallica, Aerosmith, Mötley Crüe, Bon Jovi, Tragically Hip) at The Warehouse Studio in Vancouver, Now or Nowhere is a definitive statement about the band, about the times, and about ourselves as we navigate through life, through love, and through everything else in a world that’s turned seemingly upside down and sideways.


Unable to finish the album with Bob because of COVID-19 restrictions, the band recorded the remaining three songs with help from Juno Award-winning producer Jean Massicotte (Patrick Watson, The Damn Truth); mixing was done by Vance Powell (Jack White, Chris Stapleton), Nick DiDia (Bruce Springsteen, Rage Against The Machine), and Mike Plotnikoff (Van Halen, Cranberries, Three Days Grace). It’s worth noting there are three Grammy Award winners on this album (Bob Rock, Vance Powell and Nick DiDia).

Now or Nowhere

I realize that people see us as a hard-rock band,” says singer/guitarist Lee-la Baum.

But we’re also, deep-down, rock ‘n’ roll hippies. All those things about being self-reliant, and community, and peace, and love — well, that’s us. That’s who we are.”

This Is Who We Are Now” is an incendiary kaboom of commotion, with blazing vocals, powder-keg rhythms and flaming guitars. This is immense… truly a nitroglycerin love-bomb!

If you can imagine Beth Hart whipped into a frenzy and storming the stage to revitalize an old Jefferson Starship number, only this time, it’s Andy McCoy on glam-blues guitar, then you’ll be close to interpreting what this is like … in other words awesome!

Order your advance copy of the album now: https://linktr.ee/thedamntruth

Main photo:  Martin Brisson

Link: https://www.facebook.com/thedamntruth/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.